Ol’ Dirty Bastard – Return To The 36 Chambers: The Dirty Version (Deluxe Re-Issue) [Video]

In honoring the legacy of one of hip-hop’s most innovative releases, Get On Down is proud to present this incredible and unique special edition of Ol’ Dirty Bastard’s Return to the 36 Chambers: The Dirty Version on double CD which contains the complete original album, remastered for optimal sound quality, plus a 13-track second disc featuring remixes, a capellas, instrumentals and rarities from the Return to the 36 Chambers sessions.

The two-disc set comes packaged in a deluxe bill fold wallet, designed especially for this release, which includes a reproduction of the laminated food stamp card featured on the album’s iconic cover art.

Also included are a vintage “On Tour” poster, promotion sticker, extended artwork and detailed liner notes.

Pre-order here.

Tracklist & more info after the jump.

101. Intro
102. Shimmy Shimmy Ya
103. Baby C’mon
104. Brooklyn Zoo
105. Hippa To Da Hoppa
106. Raw Hide
107. Damage
108. Don’t U Know
109. The Stomp
110. Goin’ Down
111. Drunk Game (Sweet Sugar Pie)
112. Snakes
113. Brooklyn Zoo II (Tiger Cane)
114. Proteck Ya Neck II The Zoo
115. Cuttin’ Headz
116. Dirty Dancin’
117. Harlem World DISC TWO
201. Shimmy Shimmy Ya (Extended Version)
202. Don’t You Know Part II
203. Brooklyn Zoo (Lord Digga Remix)
204. Shimmy Shimmy Ya (Studio Ton Remix)
205. Give It To Ya Raw (SD50 Remix)
206. Brooklyn Zoo (Instrumental)
207. Shimmy Shimmy Ya (Extended Instrumental)
208. Brooklyn Zoo (Lord Digga Remix Instrumental)
209. Raw Hide (Instrumental)
210. Don’t You Know (Instrumental)
211. Baby C’mon (Instrumental)
212. Shimmy Shimmy Ya (Extended A Capella)
213. Ol’ Dirty’s Back (LP Version)

It’s safe to say that hip-hop has never seen an album like Ol’ Dirty Bastard’s 1995 solo debut Return to the 36 Chambers. The brief glimpses of ODB’s unhinged genius provided by Wu-Tang Clan’s landmark Enter the Wu-Tang album two years earlier were begging to be expanded on to a larger canvas, and, with RZA guiding production, the album promised to give Dirty the creative license to make one of the most bizarre, entertaining and original LPs in hip-hop

With his raspy, drunken flow and dark sense of humor, Dirty fearlessly attacks from all angles, throwing himself fearlessly into punchy rhyme attacks (“Damage,” with GZA), drugged-out party jams (the monster singles “Brooklyn Zoo” and “Shimmy Shimmy Ya”) and bizarre, grimly hilarious fantasies of sex and violence (“Don’t U Know” and the R&B-tinged “Sweet Sugar Pie”).

Backed by RZA’s appropriately gritty, dissonant beats and appearances from the Clan, Return became an instant hit, selling over 1 million copies and earning a Grammy Award nomination for Best Rap Album in 1996. The album stands as a high water mark in the Wu-Tang Clan’s collective creative output and was selected as one of the Best 100 Rap Albums by The Source magazine in 1998.

Previously: Ol’ Dirty Bastard’s “Return To The 36 Chambers” Re-Released As Wallet Box

One thought on “Ol’ Dirty Bastard – Return To The 36 Chambers: The Dirty Version (Deluxe Re-Issue) [Video]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *