Talib Kweli & Madlib – Liberation 2 [Album]

Talib Kweli and Madlib have released their new collaborative album, “Liberation 2”.

“The materialism and debauchery that is stereotypically associated with hip-hop has lost some of its luster,” the rapper said. “Madlib and I have been consistent in our messaging. Never has there been a better time for such honest, message-driven music that pays tribute to the sounds that came before us.”

The 15-song effort features guest appearances from Q-Tip, the late Mac Miller, Pink Siifu, Roc Marciano, Westside Gunn, Diani, Wildchild, Cassper Nyovest, Seun Kuti, Roy Ayers and more.

Like the latest Black Star album “No Fear of Time” from Kweli and Mos Def, “Liberation 2” is also exclusive to the Luminary podcast network. There is no word if the LP will arrive on DSPs anytime soon.

Watch the video for the LP’s lead single “These Messages” here, and check out the full tracklist below.

  • 01 Assata’s Code (feat. Diani)
  • 02 Best Year Ever
  • 03 Air Quotes (feat. Diani)
  • 04 Nat Turner (feat. Cassper Nyovest & Seun Kuti)
  • 05 One For Biz (feat. Wildchild & Q-Tip)
  • 06 Loop Digga’s Revenge (feat. Goapele)
  • 07 Ad Vice (feat. Diani & Pink Siifu)
  • 08 Wild Sweet Love (feat. Moonbyrd & jessica care moore)
  • 09 Wild Beauty (feat. Moonbyrd & Keenyn Omari)
  • 10 The Right to Love Us (with Mac Miller)
  • 11 After These Messages (feat. Amani)
  • 12 Richies Part Two (feat. Roc Marciano & Westside Gunn)
  • 13 Marathon Thru Babylon (feat. Meshell Ndegeocello)
  • 14 Something Special (feat. Roy Ayers)
  • 15 Assata’s Reprise (feat. Jamie Branch)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *